abstraitFluide05

«The wonders are occurring only because of gravity and only because we know how to use gravity to create wonders. It is gravity that is the tool, it is gravity that is the therapist. All we are doing is directing the flow gravity by virtue of organizing the body as though it were an electric wire so that gravity can flow through it.»

Dr. Ida Rolf

France Hatt Arnold

rolf

HOME

Rolfing

Rolfing Movement

Dr. Ida Rolf

WHEN TO CONSULT

individuAL SESSIONS

CoursES

BECOMING A ROLFER

ABOUT FRANCE HATT-ARNOLD

Contact

NEWS

structural

integration

Français

Ida Pauline Rolf (1896-1979) is the founder of the Rolfing® Structural Integration method that she developed and first taught in California, U.S.A. She is one of the first women to have obtained a PhD in biochemistry at the University of Columbia, New York, in 1920.

During her research into chronic diseases, she became interested in different body work such as yoga, osteopathy, and studied the effects of physical structure over physiological and motor functions. She developed the concept of Structural Integration based on the observation that posture and movement are dependant on the law of gravity, and can be supported by gravity rather than being weighed down by it. By modifying the network of connective tissue (or fascias) with a precise touch, posture can be reorganised and conditions of health improved.

Invited by Fritz Perls, the founder of Gestalt Therapy, Ida Rolf started to teach at the Esalen Institute in California in the sixties, and created her own institute in Boulder Colorado in the seventies. She taught until her death in 1979. Later on, the method of Structural Integration took the name of Rolfing® Structural Integration.

abstraitFluide05

«Les miracles se produisent seulement grâce à la force gravitaire et seulement parce que nous savons comment utiliser la gravité pour créer des miracles. La gravité est l’outil et le thérapeute. Notre seule contribution est de diriger le flux de la gravité en réorganisant le corps comme s’il était un câble électrique, afin que la force gravitaire y afflue.»

Dr. Ida Rolf

Ida Rolf (1896-1979) a développé et enseigné la méthode du Rolfing® Intégration Structurale en Californie dès 1958. Elle est une des premières femmes américaines à avoir obtenu un doctorat en biochimie à l’Université de Columbia de New York dans les années 1920.

Au cours de ses recherches consacrées aux maladies chroniques, Ida Rolf a été amenée à s’intéresser à diverses formes de travail corporel, notamment le yoga et l’ostéopathie, étudiant les effets de la structure physique sur les fonctions motrices et physiologiques. Elle a développé le concept d’«Intégration Structurale», basé sur l’observation que la posture et le mouvement sont soumis aux lois de la gravité et peuvent être soutenus par cette dernière plutôt qu’appesantis. En effet, en modifiant le réseau des tissus conjonctifs (ou fascias) par un toucher précis, la posture gravitaire peut être réorganisée et les conditions de santé améliorées.

Invitée par Fritz Perls, fondateur de la thérapie Gestalt, Ida Rolf a enseigné sa méthode à l’Institut d’Esalen en Californie dans les années 60, puis créé son propre Institut dans le Colorado au début des années 70. Elle a enseigné jusqu’à sa mort en 1979. Par la suite, le concept d’«Intégration Structurale» a pris le nom de «Rolfing® Intégration Structurale».

Accueil

Rolfing

Rolfing Mouvement

Dr Ida Rolf

Quand consulter

Séances individuelles

Cours et stages

Devenir praticien-ne

Mon parcours

Contact

ACTUALITÉS

France Hatt Arnold

rolf

intégration

structurale

ENGLISH